Pro Kabaddi League (PKL)

Pro Kabaddi League

The Pro Kabaddi League (PKL), also known as Vivo Pro Kabaddi League is a professional Kabaddi league in India. Launched in 2014 and currently played by 12 teams, the tournament is played in a round-robin format before knockouts decide the tournament winner.

Kabaddi is an ancient and popular game in India, which caught the imagination of the world at the 2006 Asian Games. After that tournament, the league was conceptualised on the basis of the already popular Indian Premier League (IPL). It uses a franchise-based model and the first season was held in 2014 with eight teams.

The popularity of the game and the tournament has grown by leaps and bounds every season. The inaugural season was reportedly viewed by 435 million viewers, which was just behind that of IPL. From the 2017 season onwards, the PKL added four new teams and were split into two divisions known as zones.

The teams currently competing in the PKL are:

  • Bengal Warriors
  • Bengaluru Bulls
  • Dabang Delhi KC
  • Gujarat Fortune Giants
  • Haryana Steelers
  • Jaipur Pink Panthers
  • Patna Pirates
  • Puneri Paltan
  • Tamil Thalaivas
  • Telugu Titans
  • U Mumba
  • Up Yoddha

The PKL’s rules are similar to that of the indoor team Kabaddi game, with a few changes thrown in to make it more attractive. Two “empty” raids will be followed by a “do-or-die raid”, where the rider has to score a point or risk getting out. When the defensive side has three or less players on the mat, tackles will be deemed as a “Super Tackle”, which gives them two points instead of one.

The Patna Pirates are the most successful franchise in the history of PKL, winning the title three times in a row. The inaugural champions, Jaipur Pink Panthers, and the second edition winner, U Mumba, are the other winners of the tournament.

The duration of the match is a minimum of 40 minutes, divided into two halves of 20 minutes each with a five-minute interval between the halves. The current edition is the sixth season of the PKL being played from November 2, 2018 to January 5, 2019. Matches generally start at 8:00pm local time, with two matches scheduled for most of the days.

Like the Kabaddi game itself, the PKL is quite popular for daily fantasy sports (DFS), especially in India. Sites such as Dream11 run fantasy cricket contests for PKL games, where you can either play for free, or pay a fee to play for cash prizes.

If you need assistance as to how to play fantasy Kabaddi then be sure to check out our helpful guide.

Also, if you are trying to find a suitable Indian DFS site, be sure to run your eye over our What sites can I play Daily Fantasy Sports in India help guide.