Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) is one of the more recent Twenty20 cricket competitions that has started up. It kicked off its debut year in 2016 and is played entirely in Pakistan.

The six competing teams play each other twice in a round robin format, one at home and once away. Then the top 4 sides play in a familiar knockout format whereby 1st play 2nd, with the winner advancing to the final. 3rd play 4th with the loser eliminated and the winner taking on the team that lost the 1st v 2nd clash. The winner of this match advances to the final.

The 6 competing teams are:

  • Islamabad United
  • Karachi Kings
  • Lahore Qalanders
  • Multan Sultans
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Quetta Gladiators

All of these sides except Multan Sultans have played every year since the competitions inception in 2016. The Sultans made their debut in 2018. Islamabad United won in 2016 and 2018, while Peshawar won in 2017 and were runners up in 2018. The Quetta Gladiators were runners up in the first two seasons.

The competition attracts many of the world’s best players as well as providing opportunity to local Pakistani players.

The PSL runs for just over a month, starting in late February and finishing in late March, with a total of 34 games played.

Such a tight compact tournament with a great mix of local talent and world class players makes for a very challenging fantasy cricket game too. Many Indian Daily Fantasy Sports sites provide contests in the PSL, such as Dream11, the largest DFS website in India.