One Day International Cricket

ODI World Cup Cricket

One Day Internationals are the second longest form of International cricket, behind only Test matches, which were the only form of cricket from the game’s inception until the early 1960’s. The first tournament played under limited overs rules began in 1962 in England.

It took almost a decade before the first ever One Day International (ODI) was played, when England played Australia in 1971. The game was initially seen as somewhat of an exhibition until the late 1970’s when World Series Cricket was launched in Australia. This saw ODI’s become hugely popular and also helped to improve attendances and television viewership for all forms of cricket thereafter.

The first World Cup of Cricket was played under the limited overs format in 1975. Australia has won 4 of the last 5 World Cups.

Limited Overs cricket comes in two forms – 20 overs per side, which is called Twenty20, and 50 overs per side which the format for ODI’s. There are currently 12 Test playing nations, of which all have full, permanent ODI status. These sides are:

  • Australia
  • England
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • West Indies
  • Sri Lanka
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe
  • Bangladesh
  • Afghanistan
  • Ireland

There are also another 12 sides who have a temporary ODI status.

Games are played regularly, typically in a series or tri-series tournament, with World Cups occurring every four years.

The length of games allows for a good mix of traditional Test-style cricket while also incorporating T20 cricket, especially late in the innings for each side.

This makes selecting fantasy cricket teams very challenging at times, as every style of player imaginable has a purpose in ODI’s.

Indian Daily Fantasy Sports sites provide large volumes of international cricket contests all year round. Be sure to check out our strategy guides to help you select the best ODI side you possibly can.

FanFight banner