New Zealand Super Smash

NZ Super Smash

The New Zealand domestic Twenty20 (T20) competition is known as the Super Smash. Both sides played a shortened variation of cricket known as Twenty20 cricket, whereby both sides have just 20 overs to bowl and score runs.

The competition began in the 2005-06 season, making it one of the oldest T20 competitions running today. It runs from mid-December until late January in a compact schedule.

Like many T20 competitions around the world, this one uses a round robin format, where the six teams play each other twice – once on home soil and once at their opponent’s home ground.

After this stage has completed, there are just two finals games. The first match sees 2nd take on 3rd. The loser is knocked out of the tournament, while the winner advances to the final to take on the side that finished 1st. Thus, finishing the round robin stage at the top of the ladder means automatic entry into the final.

There are six teams in the New Zealand Super Smash, and they are:

  • Auckland Aces
  • Canterbury Kings
  • Central Stags
  • Northern Knights
  • Otago Volts
  • Wellington Firebirds

T20 is a very popular format of cricket, where games are decided within three hours, as opposed to the full day version that is One Dayers. It’s also very popular on Daily Fantasy Sports sites. People can play fantasy cricket  at sites like HalaPlay, Golden Jeeto, FanTain, Dream11, Champions11 and BalleBaazi.

You can find reviews for all of these sites, as well as help guides on how to play fantasy cricket, and improve your skills in fantasy cricket, right here on Fantasy Hero.