JLT One-Day Cup

JLT One-Day Cup

The JLT One-Day Cup is the Australian domestic limited overs competition. Each game sees both sides bat once and bowl once, with each innings a maximum of 50 overs long.

The first season took place in 1969-70 and the competition has been running for 50 years now. The 6 competing sides represent the Australian states of:

  • New South Wales
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia

Over the years there have been other teams involved, such as the New Zealand International side, the Cricket Australia XI team and the ACT Comets.

The competition has change in its format over the years, but most recently is played in a round robin format where each side plays each other once. Then a very simple finals series takes place whereby 1st plays 4th and 2nd plays 3rd. The losers of both games are eliminated and the winners advance to the final where they meet to decide the champion.

The teams are almost entirely made up of Australian domestic players, including players from the Twenty20, One Day International and Test teams.

The 20-game tournament is now played prior to the Australian First Class season commencing. It runs from mid-September until mid-October. The 20 games are played across 24 days, which makes it perfect for Daily Fantasy Sports sites like Dream11. Constant regular fixtures with a mix of well-known and lesser-known players adds some uncertainty, which helps make fantasy cricket contests in the JTL One-Day Cup even more challenging.

Be sure to read our guide to help you play fantasy cricket as well as the many Indian site reviews and strategy guides we have available to help you learn about the game, the sites and improve your skills.