Indian Premier League (IPL)

Indian Premier League (IPL)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the biggest and richest annual competition in world cricket today. The first IPL tournament was held in 2008 and now attracts cricket’s elite players from all over the world with millions in prize money to be won.

The games are played in the Twenty20 (T20) format, whereby both sides have a maximum of 20 overs to bowl. These fast-paced variations of the longer form cricket has taken the world, but especially India, quite by storm.

The IPL features eight teams, who play each other twice in a home and away system. After these games have been played, the finals then take place. The teams ranked 1st and 2nd automatically advance to the Qualifiers, while the third and fourth placed sides advance to an Eliminator. The winner of 1st v 2nd advances to the Final, while the loser takes on the victor between 3rd and 4th. They then play for the other place in the final.

There currently eight teams in the Indian Premier League:

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Daredevils
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad

The contest runs over twi months, typically from March to May, with each game taking approximately three hours to complete.

Due to the immense popularity of T20 in India, coupled with the IPL attracting the world’s best T20 players, it’s no surprise that Indian Daily Fantasy Sports sites, such as MoneyBall9 feature T20 and IPL games heavily.

You can view our reviews of many Indian DFS websites, as well as help guides and tips on how to play fantasy cricket to help you tackle your first Indian Premier League DFS contest!