Big Bash League (BBL)

Big Bash League

The Big Bash League (BBL) is Australia’s premier domestic T20 cricket competition. The Big Bash League first began in 2011 and contains 8 teams, who play in a round robin format before taking part in a knockout system throughout the finals to determine the tournament winner.

T20 cricket is a fast and exciting format of the game. Where One Day Internationals (ODI’s) can take all day to play, T20 games are often completed within around 3 hours, which provides more interest for casual and young cricket fans around the country.

The teams currently competing in the BBL are:

  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder

The Perth Scorchers are the most successful side, having won 3 titles, and finishing runner-up twice, which means they’ve only missed out on a spot in the Final twice in the competition’s history. Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder, Brisbane Heat and Adelaide Strikers have all won one title apiece.

The competition typically runs from mid-December until the final in mid-February, with most of the games played as night matches starting at around 7:30pm local time.

The Big Bash League is immensely popular for daily fantasy sports (DFS), especially in India. Sites such as Dream11 run fantasy cricket contests for BBL games, where you can either play for free, or pay a fee to play for cash prizes.

If you need assistance as to how to play fantasy cricket then be sure to check out our helpful guide.

Also, if you are trying to find a suitable Indian DFS site, be sure to run your eye over our What sites can I play Daily Fantasy Sports in India help guide.