BBL08 Squads


The Big Bash League (BBL) is Australia’s premier Twenty20 cricket competition. The 2018-19 season will see 8 teams playing a total of 59 games, starting on December 19, 2018 and ending on February 17, 2019.

Teams are dominated by Australian players, with each side allocated 2 International players to fill their rosters. Below are the squads for each team for the upcoming BBL|08 Season.

Adelaide Strikers

Squad: Travis Head (captain), Colin Ingram (International), Rashid Khan (International), Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Michael Cormack, David Grant, Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Michael Neser, Liam O’Connor, Matt Short, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Cameron Valente, Jake Weatherald, Jonathan Wells, Nick Winter.

Gains: Matt Short, Cameron Valente

Losses: Nil

The Strikers are the defending champions after winning last season’s final to claim their first BBL title. They’ve made just two additions to their side, batsman Matt Short and all-rounder Cameron Valente. They are expected to be one of the top teams again this season.

Brisbane Heat

Squad: Brendon McCullum (Captain, International), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (International), Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Brendan Doggett, Sam Heazlett, Matt Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, James Pattinson, Jimmy Peirson, Jack Prestwidge, Matt Renshaw, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson.

Gains: Matt Kuhnemann, James Pattinson, Jack Prestwidge, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Losses: Shadab Khan

The Heat have beefed up their bowling stocks in an attempt to rectify last season’s poor form. 17 year Afghanistan International player Mujeeb Ur Rahman is a very talented bowler who has already played 7 International T20 games. James Pattinson will make his BBL debut this season.  Expect some improvement from the Heat in 2018/19.

Hobart Hurricanes

Squad: George Bailey (captain), Jofra Archer (International), Tymal Mills (International), Johan Botha, Jake Doran, James Faulkner, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Simon Milenko, David Moody, Tim Paine, Tom Rogers, Clive Rose, D’Arcy Short, Aaron Summers, Matthew Wade.

Gains: Jake Doran, James Faulkner, Caleb Jewell, Aaron Summers.

Losses: Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian

The Hurricanes have a side brimming with big hitters, so expect some big tallies run up by them this season. James Faulkner is the big addition to this side. Hobart will be hoping to go one better this season than the last, where they were runners-up in the final.

Melbourne Renegades

Squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Mohammad Nabi (International), Usman Khan Shinwari* (International), Harry Gurney* (International), Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian, Tom Cooper, Zak Evans, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Jon Holland, Tim Ludeman, Joe Mennie, Kane Richardson, Will Sutherland, Chris Tremain, Beau Webster, Cameron White, Jack Wildermuth.

Gains: Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian, Zak Evans, Harry Gurney, Mackenzie Harvey, Usman Khan Shinwari, Will Sutherland.

Losses: Brad Hodge, James Pattinson, Matt Short, Guy Walker.

*Gurney will replace Shinwari for the second half of the season.

The Renegades finished last season in third place and have had a lot of changes to their squad for this year. They are somewhat of an unknown entity for this season, but on paper, they look good enough to be in the finals.

Melbourne Stars

Squad: Dwayne Bravo (International), Sandeep Lamichhane* (International), Matt Parkinson* (International), Michael Beer, Jackson Bird, Scott Boland, Liam Bowe, Jackson Coleman, Travis Dean, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Jonathan Merlo, Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa.

Gains: Jackson Bird, Dwayne Bravo, Travis Dean, Sandeep Lamichhane, Nic Maddinson, Matt Parkinson

Losses: James Faulkner, John Hastings, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Luke Wright.

Parkinson will replace Lamichhane for the second half of the season.

The Stars have bulked up significantly in the bowling department, however the signing of Dwayne Bravo is their biggest signing. After missing the finals for their time ever last season, where they finished dead last, the Stars will be looking for a return to the top 4 this year and have a great roster to achieve that with.

Perth Scorchers

Squad: Mitch Marsh (captain), Usman Qadir (international), David Willey (international), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile

Cameron Green, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Michael Klinger, Shaun Marsh, Joel Paris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman.

Gains: Matthew Kelly, Usman Qadir

Losses: Mitchell Johnson, Adam Voges

The Scorchers have a well-rounded squad for the 2018/19 season, with plenty of All-Rounders as well as a good mix of youth and experience. Perth are the most successful side with 3 titles and they have appeared in 5 of the 7 finals. They’ll be hoping to add to that again this year.

Sydney Sixers

Squad: Moises Henriques (captain), Joe Denley (international), Sean Abbott, Justin Avendano, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Dan Fallins, Daniel Hughes, Nathan Lyon, Peter Nevill, Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, Henry Thornton.

Gains: Justin Aevndano, Jack Edwards, Dan Fallins, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope.

Losses: Johan Botha, Doug Bollinger, Nic Maddinson. (Jon Hastings was signed for this season but has had to withdraw due to an ongoing medical condition).

The Sixers still have a few spots to fill on their roster and the unfortunate loss of key player Hastings before the season started hasn’t helped. They’ve had some big losses and may struggle unless they can pick up a few world class stars.

Sydney Thunder

Squad: Shane Watson (captain), Jos Butler* (international), Anton Devcich* (international), Chris Jordan* (international), Joe Root* (international), Fawad Ahmed, Pat Cummins, Callum Ferguson, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Liam Hatcher, Usman Khawaja, Jay Lenton, Nathan McAndrew, Arjun Nair, Kurtis Paterson, Sam Rainbird, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha.

Gains: Nathan McAndrew, Sam Rainbird, Joe Root, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha

Losses: Aiden Blizzard, Andrew Fekete, Mitch McClenaghan, Clint McKay, Ben Rohrer

Root and Butler will play the first of the season and then be replaced by Jordan and Devcich for the second half.

The Thunder have a unique history, finishing in the bottom 3 every season bar one, 2015/16 where they won the title. They’ve been aggressively buying up some of the best talent in the land and overseas for this season and have built a magnificent squad. They look capable of reaching the finals on paper. Big year expected.